Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

PicsArt_1438440894518Author:  Sarah J. Maas

Ratings: 3.5/5

This is the first work of Sarah J. Maas that I read. At first, I am nervous about picking it up because I have no background about the author, except of course, she’s internationally celebrated. (Lets face it, fame is not equal to quality.) But nevertheless, I started this book with an open mind and has no any expectation in case I won’t like it.

PicsArt_1438441284303

This book reflects how awesome the author is in building an imaginary land. Though she only give the reader glimpses with Fayre’s artist eye on the faery lands, Prythia, she still made the readers’ senses involve by making us feel the cold of the winter or the smell of magic. Sarah J. Maas show the beauty and uglyness of the lands the way you won’t question if it is true or not.

PicsArt_1438441531360

Non-existent. I mean, where the hell is it?! At first I am like that. Don’t get me wrong, I like this book a lot and I would definitely reread it when the second book comes around. But it is full of extras and fillers. Fayre is spending all her time at the house while Tamlin is fighting for the survival of his land, but the story still focuses on how she paint, or on how she hunt. It made me wish that the author focuses more on their relationship or the brewing danger other than how Fayre broods on her family or on how she will escape Prythia. I also didn’t know at first why Tamlin is not trying to save Fayre from the villain, I thought he’s drugged or enchanted. I only understand it when Rhysand explained. I’m just as clueless as Fayre. Thankfully the story picked up before the ending, leaving me left wanting for more and longing for the next book.

PicsArt_1438441484319

FAYRE: If I am a little girl who read her story, I would say that I want to be just like her when I grow up. It’s a pity I’m not. (Hahaha) I like her kickass attitude and how she values family and promises. I love that she will go to the end of the world and will take her final breath just to make sure the welfare of the ones she love. She’s talented, brave and witty.

TAMLIN: Halfway through the story and I still don’t understand Tamlin’s character. He’s ravenous at first, then he became shy and mysterious, then he became stern. I thought that he’s brave because he’s a High Fae and everything, but he still show submissiveness to Rhysand. He also didn’t do enough effort to save Feyre in the end of the story. Basically, he just watch her while she’s in the brink of being dead.

RHYSAND: I have mixed feelings for him. It’s not thoroughly tackled whether he’s a protagonist or an antagonist. But if I am Feyre, I will feel torn between him and Tamlin.

Amarantha: She’s unrevokably evil. Her thirst for blood and gruesome deaths made her a very promising and effective villain. It’s just a shame that they killed her here at the first book because I think that she will be a great antagonist all through the end.

PicsArt_1438441562721

All in all I like it and I will definitely pick up the second installment of this series. This book has a lot of potential in it and it is very promising. The author really invested on how she’ll make her main character remarkable and on making a blistering romance so that the readers will make themselves more involved in the story.

2 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

  1. Great review! It’s a shame you didn’t like it more. It was a Beauty and the Beast retelling which explains a lot of the plot points. It focused more on the relationship between Feyre and Tamlin and it explains why Tamlin’s character is the way he is. He’s supposed to be a brute beast but when it comes to Feyre he is a soft cuddly bear. I agree that the book wasn’t perfect, but it was a great start 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

