Review: Red Rising

Red_Rising_(2014)

 

Author: Pierce Brown

PicsArt_1439625816736

Red Rising tells the story of a sixteen year old helldiver named Darrow. He, along with his fellow Reds mine a substance called helium-3 that is believed to make the planets in the solar system to be habitable for the human race. But Eo, Darrow’s wife learned that the Reds we’re being fooled and enslaved. She discovered that they were being used by the society to supply helium-3 while the other colors we’re already living in Mars. Because of this, Darrow was whipped while Eo was hanged by the gallows. Eventually, a rebel group called Sons of Ares recruited Darrow to be their new member. His body was carved so he’ll look like a Gold. After all the pains and sufferings he emerged as a Gold and penetrated the Institute so he can finally avenge the death of his Eo.

PicsArt_1439634700037

Red Rising is the dystopia burn out pill I have been looking for quite some time. This is, hands down, one of the best dystopia novel I have read and I have read plenty. What I like about this book is that the author explore every possible angle that Red Rising provides. Pierce Brown talks about oppression, war and survival, but it doesn’t end there. The story didn’t only offer bloodbaths but also showed how important to use your knowledge in winning a war. It is about trust and loyalty, and knowing where to put them.

Another thing that I noticed is the poetic prose that Red Rising possess. Though written in minimalist style, the heavy theme that the book has was still showcased. I love how this book was so intelligently written and I can’t get enough of it. The pages we’re oozing with wisdom with its carefully crafted plot line.

It is evident in the story that the characters, especially Darrow, we’re very carefully thought about. Pierce Brown know exactly how he wanted his characters and he made the right approach in introducing them to the readers. The depth of the characterization made Darrow unforgettable. He is every bit of a Gary Stu, he is the best helldiver, the top-notcher on the Institutes examination and it looks like he can gain followers so effortlessly. And I think the story calls for it. When you were put in a new and dangerous environment, it is essential to have the talent to survive and be resourceful. Darrow is simply exceptional on everything he does. On the other hand, I noticed that female characters we’re only secondary next to Darrow. They only had supporting roles that helps Darrow’s character develop.

All in all, I super love this book and I recommend it to everyone especially to those YA SciFi Fanatics.

PicsArt_1439628409195

Rating: 5/5

P.S. I don’t think I can continue the book-a-thon I joined this August and I’m very sorry about it. The reason why is because I don’t think I can read any other book until I read Golden Son.

One thought on “Review: Red Rising

Leave a Reply

