The Rose Society

images (4)

Author: Marie Lu
Publisher: Putnam
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Pages: 416
Rating: 5/5

5⭐
After being exiled by the Daggers, Adelina Amoterou flee away from Kenettra with her sister Violetta. They went to the city if Merroutas in hope of finding new elites so they can form a new group that they will be calling The Rose Society. They first found the famous Magiano whose powers is to mimic other elites’ power. One way or another, Magiano was the reason they found “The Rainmaker” that the Daggers exiled, his name is Sergio.

After getting allies, Adelina with her roses sailed back to Estenzia to seize the throne. Along the way they discovered that the Daggers we’re planning to bring back Enzo from the dead with the help of the Beldain queen, Maeve, whose power is to bring back the dead by tethering its soul to another human being. With this knowledge Adelina managed to fool everyone and got Enzo tethered to her instead of Rafaelle.

When Adelina thought that everything’s in its place with the crown of Estenzia hers and Enzo tied to her soul, then she will discover that everything costs something.

trsbr
I waited for a month to read The Rose Society, and I must say that every agonizing minute of waiting was worth it. Some people waited for a year and honestly, I can’t imagine myself waiting that long. I would have gone insane.

After the ending of the first book, I expect nothing easy and light for The Rose Society. I expect nothing but vengeance and hardships, but even with these expectations I was surprised on how the story unfolds. It didn’t occur to me that Marie Lu will have the heart to take our characters into a much darker path. I almost hated her because of it, because of how sad and dark Adelina’s life has become when all she wanted (in the past) is to be loved and to be accepted. The author totally suceeded again on telling a story of a villain. The Rose Society may be a filler book of sorts but on story telling wise, it is a unique book that shows what’s behind the mask of an antagonist.

So what’s the difference between The Rose Society and those other literary works that tells the story of characters who makes the life of those good hearted people suffer? Adelina.

Adelina’s character backbone is made of sufferings and bitterness. She is fueled with vengeance and thirst of power just like every other villains. But what made her so compelling is her character never pretended to be pitiful. Yes she suffered in the past, but it wasn’t the MAIN reason on how she turned out. It’s like the darkness of her soul is what she’s already made of even before the bloodfever arrived. It’s like her own existence was made possible by the desire to be uplifted. Even on The Young Elite when she was training with the Daggers her power is much more stronger when she’s afraid or angry.

Do I like Adelina? Hell yeah! Why? Well I don’t want to be on the receiving end of her wrath so I decided that if on a parallel universe where she existed, I’ll try to be friends with her.

Let’s talk about Magiano. He’s hilarious, his power is to die for, and he’s overlooked by Adelina. How can one ignore that kind of character? He’s so full of life and energy. While reading the book, I am more looking forward on his scenes more than those of our MAIN characters. There’s just something in him that will make every reader drawn to him. I don’t know if it’s his swag that made the differece, but if you’ll read the book I will promise that you’ll like his character. I just wish that there’s a whole lot more of him on the book. I feel deprived of his scenes.

Another character that was added to the mix is our resident bringer of dead back to life, the Beldain Queen, Maeve. Honestly I don’t know whether to trust her. She’s the leader of another country, yet she agreed on restoring Enzo’s life (which turned out to be trouble). Her character says that she wanted to restore him to help everyone but clearly, she did that because she has something to gain from it. So my verdict about her hasn’t reach its ending yet.

The Daggers were a mess in this book, one died, another was dying, and another one has failed on having a dead man’s life tethered into him. I don’t think that there’s something good coming on their way on the next book. I just can’t grasp the fact that a group that was so invincible in the past ended up like that. I was embarassed for them.

Teren’s character surprised me, he agreed on doing something that makes his stomach turn, which is teaming up with elites. Also, can you believe that she killed Guillietta? He took the definition of insane into a whole new level. But I also believe that his character possesses a depth that the other character in this novel don’t have. He really believed that getting rid of malfettos is right, and that the world is safer without them. He dedicated his whole existence into sweeping the nation of them. Maybe if his character is not that crazy, readers would come to love him.

All in all, I believed that Marie Lu took a whole leap of faith in these novels. Without wit and intelligent writing, this story would have been horrendous, but it wasn’t, in fact it is a book that will awaken your blood. Marie Lu did a good job writing this book, and I hope that more exciting things will come. Though other characters were not thoroughly developed, like Sergio whom I wish has more scenes, I’m still as excited to see on what will happen to them, because with an ending like that I can’t imagine something good to happen. There’s just so many possibilities that I refure to ponder with because if I do, I’ll get as insane as Adelina and Teren. We do not want that to happen to me though I’m halfway there.

One thought on “The Rose Society

Leave a Reply

